Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Clutch Adjustment In 4.2

Lyons

I bought a 4.2 petrol XT3 for a workhorse a few weeks ago but cannot get used to the biting point, mostly in 1st and 2nd.

Is this a common trait to the Rav4 and something I need to put up with? I drive many different cars in work and can adapt to the various biting points without difficulty, which leads me to think this is not normal. That said I've very little experience with Toyota before.

Is there any adjustment in the clutch?

Top left corner diagram on second sheet of the PDF [copied from pinned section at top of forum page] shows correct settings so you can at least check Ian.

I have no idea how the pedal is adjusted though. Doubtless someone will be along later who can advise.

2003 4.2 petrol clutch adjustment.PDF

• Thanks 1

Thanks for that. I'd be keen to see how its done and have a tinker.

It would be great if it was something so simple!

The Rav does have a very low first gear and its often mentioned how rough the change is between first and second.

I have never liked starting off in the RAV since new, its always a hurry to get into second. Its possibly the worst 1st and 2nd gear change I have ever owned.

So maybe what your experiancing may be "one end of normal".

Best thing to do is cadge a test drive in another 4.2 and see if you really have a problem.

And on the subject of "baulky" gear changes, don't forget to use a gear oil of 75W-80 in the box, rather than the originally specified 85W-90. It makes changes much easier, particularly in cold weather.

Would it be worth changing that now? Dear knows when it was last done.

DIY job?

Easy DIY job, its in the technical information section of the forum. Personally I use Castrol Universal 75W90.

Opie Oils will normaly give a great deal if you shop arround on the internet, then email them for a competitive quote.