Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

From 5 series BMW to Rav4

Bendix

Hello everyone! 

This is my first post as I just join today this  club. The reason for it is that I thought of selling my current car which is a 2002 E39 BMW and buy a 3 door Rav4 also 2001-2002 model. Being a newbie I have no clue yet about Rav4's, so if you are kind enough to help out a fellow motorist deciding what to buy and look for, will be much appreciated. 

Personally I'm thinking of buying the petrol version as its cheaper and I'm not doing many miles. Apart from that I don't know what to look for, maybe you guys can help me out. 

Thanks! 

Petrol rav's are bullet proof , a few issues with diesel,s I believe. Turbo's and dmf . Diesel is also cambelt where as the petrol is cam chain . 

only thing I can say about the petrol model is if you go for a manual check the fifth gear, drive it and check to see if the gear lever vibrates this will need the fifth gear replacing which will cost around £400 if you get someone to do it for you easier enough to do yourself for half that if mechanically minded, If really bad jumps out of gear. Other than that you can get the odd oxygen sensor go but cheap enough. That's it ! Oh and you won,t get stuck in the winter like your bmw !. 

Best all round car I have ever owned, mine is a 2004 petrol manual, I believe the auto,s are even better but a bit more thirsty. 

Thanks a lot for the advice. Wasn't sure if I should go for petrol or diesel. Was thinking that diesel would be more economic but I guess I'll stick to petrol. 

Another question that I have is how much of a hassle is to fit a tow bar and roughly how much will it cost? I want a tow bar to fit my bikes, that's the only reason. Also need the electrical. I passed a lot of eBay auctions for the reason that they were missing the tow bar, and not many have them.