Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Unexplained Clunk, Please Help!

scally

Hi All, I'm new to this sort of thing but here goes. Please if anyone could shed any light on what the following could be I will be very greatful; I have a Toyota Hilux 3ltr 07plate, it was involed in a hit & run on a round-about with a Ford Transit Flat-bed in October, yes he did a runner. My insurance fixed my Hilux, but on getting it back from the garage within days it developed a metal clunking sound that could and still is being heard when turning full lock left in forward + reverse. I contacted my insurance company and my Hilux has been back to the garage were I test drove it for thier head engineer, he confirmed that he could also hear the clunk. It has since been test driven & looked at by an Independent Assessor and Toyota + a full safety check carried out, they also heard the sound but thier findings were inconclusive. The safety check only showed that my front breaks + discs needed repalcing, so I have had this done and also fitted a full set of new tyres. The clunk is still there! The insurance company now would like the truck to go into Toyota for a three hour strip down starting with the front passenger side wheel and working back. If this also comes back as be inconclusive or not part of the accident then I will have to pick up the cost of just under £400, OUCH! I have added so photos if this helps. Any idears are wellcome. THX.post-118210-0-30918600-1330112194_thumb.post-118210-0-30918600-1330112194_thumb.post-118210-0-83774700-1330112123_thumb.

post-118210-0-04971500-1330112267_thumb.

Hi Emma and welcome to the club. If the clunking was not apparent before the accident then it must be down to the accident. but if they cant find the cause after this why should you have to pay if the problem is still there.