Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Avensis D4d Starting Problem

2004 Avensis Diesel Driver

After waiting for the glow plug light on the dashboard to go out, I turned the ignition key to start the engine and nothing happened (all of the lights on the dashboard went out). When I tried again, this time none of the dashboard lights came on, so I suspect this is something as simple as a fuse or a relay which has gone.

Any ideas?

I have a 2004 Avensis Diesel which until now has opperated without any problems, and please be aware that I am not a mechanic, so simple explanations would be appreciated.

Many thanks!

After waiting for the glow plug light on the dashboard to go out, I turned the ignition key to start the engine and nothing happened (all of the lights on the dashboard went out). When I tried again, this time none of the dashboard lights came on, so I suspect this is something as simple as a fuse or a relay which has gone.

Any ideas?

I have a 2004 Avensis Diesel which until now has opperated without any problems, and please be aware that I am not a mechanic, so simple explanations would be appreciated.

Many thanks!

sound like your batery could be on its last leggs . try jump starting it . if it starts have the batery tested

I have just tested the battery and it is fully charged

try to jump start it anyway , just to see if gives you any life . the Battery could be showing 12v but there could be still dead cells . have you used a heavy duty discharge tester ? if its still dead on jump leads its probably an earth fault .

Any ideas?

Many thanks!

hello

when you state as "NOTHING HAPPENED" -- what did you mean?? Have the engine been cranked after?

How do you feel whether the cranking is good enough ? Sometimes due to carbon originating on the glow plugs relay -- it results current leak and plugs are not heated enough. Your soon response is appreciated.

Cheers/Igor