Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Weird Light On Dash ?!

tango222

Hi all,

newbie here with a 99 Avensis 1.8 the non-vvti version. I got a couple of questions tried searching but couldnt find anything.

Basicallyi got an orange light on in the far right bottom corner of the dash on constantly. Its a picture of a car with two lines coming out the back like either skid marks or smoke? ???

Anyone know what it could be. Has puzzled me as ive checked the book and cant see anything on it.

Also does anyone know if all the 1.8 Avensis models have the econo light ? As mine doesnt come on and neither does it appear on startup. Thanks!!

Hi all,

newbie here with a 99 Avensis 1.8 the non-vvti version. I got a couple of questions tried searching but couldnt find anything.

Basicallyi got an orange light on in the far right bottom corner of the dash on constantly. Its a picture of a car with two lines coming out the back like either skid marks or smoke? ???

Anyone know what it could be. Has puzzled me as ive checked the book and cant see anything on it.

Also does anyone know if all the 1.8 Avensis models have the econo light ? As mine doesnt come on and neither does it appear on startup. Thanks!!

Sounds like it could be the ABS light (anti-lock braking). If you've experienced the ABS operating during the recent snowy conditions then you'll know how the brake pedal 'judders' when you slam the brakes on hard. Try hitting the brake pedal as hard as you can at about 20mph on a quiet road. If it skids and screeches to a halt then you have a broken ABS sensor on one of the wheels, if the brake pedal judders and no skidding then possibly another problem but I would place my bets on a broken ABS sensor.