Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Can You Coast In Neutral (Iq3)

megacab

Hi all, I am a newbie on here and have been reading a lot of info about the IQ's not getting good mpg as advertised, I am hoping those cars are in the minority :-) as I have pretty much decided that I would like to get a IQ3 but I was wondering about hypermiling in one. Can you coast in neutral with this Start/Stop technology. I noticed that the engine will only turn off on the IQ3 and not on the IQ2 which also has the Electric Start Button. If the engine turns off when in neutral would that not put you in a potentially very dangerous situation if you were to coast down hills in neutral. I am guessing it would be fine on the IQ2 because the engine doesn't turn off when idling and in neutral etc..

I like to practice safe hypermiling but prefer the engine size of the IQ3 to get me out of potentially bad situations quickly which the 1.0 l has more trouble doing.

Can anyone please advise..................Thanks

Coasting still uses fuel....

Coasting or gliding

The alternative to acceleration and braking is coasting. Coasting is an efficient means of slowing down, because kinetic energy is dissipated as aerodynamic drag and rolling resistance, which must always be overcome by the vehicle during travel.

When coasting with the engine running and manual transmission in neutral, or clutch depressed, there will still be some fuel consumption due to the engine needing to maintain idle engine speed.

While coasting with the engine running and the transmission in gear, most cars' engine control unit with fuel injection will cut off fuel supply, and the engine will continue running, being driven by the wheels.