Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Engine Near Death Problem Please Help..!

theKAVS

HI Everyone.

I am new to the foums and I totally dont know if this questions has been answered before or not so please forgive my ignorance.

I was driving my Toyota Avensis D4D 2003 and mistakenly dropped the gear from 4th to 3rd instead of 5th - easy done right...? lol

Well anyway...when I did this the engine instead of revving up... shunted and I just lost power... It died!

Got her started but it wouldnt rev up and let me get out of 1st gear. Had to drive her home like that was in the country area with no phone signal with the baby in car with me!

Orange engine light is on.

Was thinking it was ERG Valve that gets blocked easy - might not account for the no revving or some kind of pressure loss in the fuel rail.

I havent put the car on the computer yet, no idea of fault codes - this literally just happened in the past 30mins.

Bricking it! hope its not serious and inexpensive to fix - fingers crossed.

Hi,