Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Advice Needed Please Before I Buy!

Juneau

Hi, brand new and looking for some advice please. After owning a corolla for 10 years I defected to a suzuki sx4 but am looking for another toyota now.

I've seen a 07 auris T180, fsh, 80k on the clock. Body and interior immaculate, 12 months mot, been fir a drive and it was great.

Unfortunately I have NO knowledge of cars - ex hubbie would normally check things out for me. Could someone give me an idea of things I should be checking before I buy please (simple terminology please 😀 )

Check for if the engine has been replaced there was head gasket issues but Toyota rectified them .... And check if the egr valve has ever been cleaned

Check for if the engine has been replaced there was head gasket issues but Toyota rectified them .... And check if the egr valve has ever been cleaned

Thanks, couldn't see anything about the engine in the history so assuming not, will check the erg valve

Hello Lindsay - welcome to Toyota Owners Club.

Some cars with the 2.2 litre and 2 litre diesel engines (we don't know the percentage affected|) have experienced head gasket issues - the first post of the following thread provides an insight: http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/132178-charliefarlies-guide-to-the-toyota-2ad-diesel-engine-and-its-issues/

Toyota undertook to replace engines which experienced these issues for a goodwill period of 7 years/111,846 miles from the car's first registration date.

For some cars this goodwill period has now expired.

The service history supplied with the car won't necessarily show whether a car has experienced head gasket issues or whether an engine has been replaced. However, if you contact your local Toyota dealer with details of the car you're interested in (registration number or VIN), they should be able to check whether or not the car has had it's engine replaced.