Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Loud random fan noise - please help

fishfingers24

Hi guys I'm still new to this forum and looking for a little help with my aventis

1.6l - 65 plate - 38k on clock as I'm a taxi driver and just had its service.

Now and again I get a very strange fan like noise which seems to be coming from the engine bay. The noise is very random and can come on whilst driving or stationary. However when I pull away the noise may go but may also come back a few seconds later.

The problem seems to occur for anything up to 15 minutes and then it's fine. It also happens every other day or once a day which is pretty odd.

When the fan sound does come on it seems to change the way the car drives slightly more sluggish would be the best way to describe it.

I have tried google and come up with nothing and when I take it into toyota the problem never happens which is typical.

Ps: I have always had this problem since I had the car but back then it was much less frequent Any replies would be appreciated.

Kind regards

John

The 1.6 will be a diesel engine won't it? Could it be the DPF regenerating (or trying to)? I've never noticed it on our 2.0 diesel, but on other diesels I've driven it's often identified by the engine revs going slightly higher at idle, slightly 'lumpy' running and the cooling fan coming on. Can also cause a hot/burning smell from outside the car.

16 minutes ago, yossarian247 said:

The 1.6 will be a diesel engine won't it? Could it be the DPF regenerating (or trying to)? I've never noticed it on our 2.0 diesel, but on other diesels I've driven it's often identified by the engine revs going slightly higher at idle, slightly 'lumpy' running and the cooling fan coming on. Can also cause a hot/burning smell from outside the car.