Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Washer fluid container problem?

LesToyota

I have a problem with my 2019 Mk 3 Yaris washer reservoir system. I can hear the pump working but no fluid is coming out of front and rear. After about a litre of fluid is poured in to the reservoir container it starts leaking out below car. The container looks difficult to get to the to check what's up. Possibly a hose has come off? I have checked for blockages of nozzles and cleaned anyway.

I have no knowledge of car repairs. Is this a job for a repair shop, or is it possible to do myself. Supposedly this is what the system looks like. Thanks for any advise.

s-l1600.thumb.jpg.b5d8636f15aaf84416da62be30684c54.jpg

I believe it's accessed by removing the O/S wheel arch liner. If you're not up to this, then you could try putting a hose in the filler and flushing it out.

If you could peel back liner, it might be an easy fix and save you a few ££.

Have a look first and see if there is an hose off/split or pump has dislodged for example.

Thanks, Bob. I hear the headlight has to be removed also. Well it's leaking from somewhere, so flushing I assume will just leak out the same place?
Adam, thanks. I'll have a good look tomorrow to see how far down the outer side of the container I can see.

In my fitter (as in physically not mechanically) days I came across the old Peugeot non working washers a couple of times.

On one of them the reservoir was behind the front wheel arch liner as described above, so may be a similar setup.

The method was jack up the front of the car , remove front wheel, remove wheel arch liner, then all is revealed.

So even if the pump is ok , then you could see what is what with the hoses etc. 

• Like 1