Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

I've bought a Swace

Swacey

Hello, I've bought a 2023 Swace facelift. I'm new to the world of Toyota and hybrids. If there are any other owners I wonder what mpg they are seeing. My mpg seems a bit high at 45 so far though we've only had it 3 days. Also when we start it in the morning it seems to start on engine and not ev, is this right? Thanks for any comments...

• Like 2

Welcome to the forum!

When it's colder outside, like now, the engine will run to provide heat to the cabin. This does increase fuel consumption. Once the engine and cabin has warmed up, it will run more on EV at lower speeds.  The best fuel economy will be when it's between 15 and 20 degrees outside and it doesn't need to heat or cool the cabin much.

• Like 1

interesting, thanks for the reply...

Hello,

The first purpose of engine "powering on" is to heat up the CAT. As long as the CAT is cold, it will run with EV traction (but petrol engine ON) to prevent emissions. Around 1 minute later, the CAT is hot enought and the system can switch to EV if other conditions are met (no cabin heat, low traction power demand....).

thanks for the information 

I have a Swace (motion spec) as well. Like others have said the engine will fire up when it is cold outside. On warner days it starts in EV mode only. 

As for mpg, I commute into London every day which is around 35 miles depending on what route I take. On this mornings commute it was averaging 83mpg, but it has taken me a while to adjust my driving after coming from diesel cars to achieve these figures. Overall I think my average is around 70mpg. That is also with the car in normal driving mode. I found the ECO mode makes little difference. I also tend to drive in a relaxed manner (which I think the car's setup suits) and let the BMWs fly past me so that they can gain precious seconds on their journey time.