Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

2005 Yaris 1.0 to 1.5 T Sport

CallmeAmber

Hello,

I'm interested in replacing my small 1.0 engine to a 1.5 t sport. This is my first time doing something like this on a car and its more of a fun project for the summer. I wondered if anyone had any information that could help make this process easier for me.

Sorry if these are stupid questions, like I said, this is new to me.

What else would I need to replace to ensure all things go smoothly?

Would I need a new gearbox?

Any tips, or information is greatly appreciated!

Thanks 🙂

Don't bother, it's tons of work - effecting every aspect of the car, insurance will be high as it's classed as a modified car

spend your money on another car imho

• Like 3

Hi Amber,

Changing an engine requires a considerable mechanical knowledge and experience. There are many technical issues and modifications needed.

Compatibility between your car's chassis, electrical system, and other components is essential. This could involve modifications to the engine mounts, and the wiring harness, and other parts, which can no doubt be frustrating if you haven't done this before.

Along with swapping the engine you would probably have to replace the gearbox as well. The 1.5 T-Sport engine might require a specific gearbox.

Other items which may need replacement is the exhaust,ECU,cooling system etc.

I remember when i was younger that a mate of mine asked me to give him a hand to swap an engine and the one thing i remember is the numerous swearing and even though he had a good mechanical background in cars he struggled with it and i was lost with how he was going about it.

A couple of times we got fed up and went down the pub.😄

Don't let that put you off 😂

• Like 2