Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Help: Replaced battery and getting weird re-ignition noise

kriscollier

Hi All,

I recently replaced the Battery in my Toyota Yaris T3 2006. Car starts just fine but when I turn the key to full ignition after initial turn on (car is running), I get the weird noise in the video. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I am a student and just trying to keep this little bugger running until I graduate. I also believe I need to replace the fan belt but just haven't had the time. Thanks!

Old battery: https://www.exidegroup.com/eu/en/battery/EB500

New battery: https://www.gsfcarparts.com/za042887

@kriscollier just 3 times and then OK?

I have an idea but shall keep my counsel until someone with more experience pops in.

It starts fine on the first attempt. It's just when you try turn the key fully again (whilst the car is running) it produces the loud noise in the video. Only real difference between batteries is the new one is 400 A vs 450 on the old.

A full turn is used to engage the starter motor.  Once it is engaged and starts the engine you release the key and it backs off the full turn.

Did each turn of the key create that noise?

If you try to turn the key again with the engine running you are trying to push the starter motor pinion into the rotating engine.  Don't try it.

I once had a starter motor fail to disenge.  I would never want that again.  The only way to stop the engine driving tge starter motor was to disconnect the Battery.

• Like 2

Ah okay understandable. Just never thought I'd seen/heard it before. So you're saying its normal? Thanks.

• Like 2

Yes perfectly normal, as I say, don't try it all the time. 

• Like 2

Topic moved to the Yaris forum.

• Like 1

why turn the key if it's running ?? all your are doing is smashing the starter gear into the flywheel, and in time you will kill the starter and/or flywheel leading to £££