Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

2013 Aygo recurring gearbox problems

Gideon88

Hello everyone,

i'm the owner of a really nice, dealer maintained and low mileage Aygo. I bought the car about a year ago and for the first six months everything was great. Unfortunately, I can't seem to stop breaking gearboxes..
I've been driving for almost 20 years without accident or serious damage or wear to any car I owned. Although I'm not a mechanic, I am an engineer so I have some intuition when It comes to operating machines or mechanical devices, such as a gearbox.

Less then 2 weeks ago, the gearbox was replaced for the third time (used, but supposedly low mileage). I asked the mechanic if something else could be causing the problems, because it seems unlikely that they keep installing broken gearboxes. Possibly something to do with the clutch or gear shift mechanism / cable. The mechanic, who claims to have worked at a Toyota dealership for 10 years (I have no reason to doubt this, they have been very fair), says 'no' . Not possible. During the last replacement he also observed "excessive wear" to the clutch. This is also strange to me, I would expect it to wear slower than average, not (much) faster.

At this point i'm afraid to shift gear. I actually removed the driver side mat, to make sure that I doesn't impede the clutch pedal. Every gear shift I make, I'm now completely focused on doing everything correctly. At first, everything seemed fine, but now the same (intermittent) problem is back: the gearbox seems to get stuck in between gears. Yesterday I was driving in fifth gear and I want to shift down to fourth. I disengage the clutch, shift to neutral and there the lever gets stuck. Cannot get it in any gear. I stop at the side of the road, turn the engine off and eventually get it unstuck by gently wiggling it.