Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

P0171 toyota corolla 1.8 hybrid

Hi everyone hope for abit of help. Got a 1.8 corolla hybrid 2019 and today the eml came on and all of a sudden the car is drinking fuel haha. Got a code reading and all it says it p0171 too lean. Where is my best starting point here to check and I do have some data on my scanner what should I be looking for. Also not sure if it is same but there is a really really bad egg smell from exhaust too. Thanks any info would be great.

look at your freeze frame data for when that code comes up

look a your short and long-term fuel trims as well as your 02 sensors

• Like 1

Iill check for you thanks. I'm not too technically minded what is the difference of short and long term fuel trims and what am I checking for in them 

Hi Ant,think of fuel trim as adjusting the air fuel mix. Both short term and long term trims are percentages.

Short term adjusts right away for things like acceleration. It should be close to 0% most of the time. Big swings indicate potential issues.

Long term learns over time and makes bigger adjustments. It should also be near 0%, but a little tolerance is okay (around +/- 10%). Big deviations here are more concerning.Hope this helps.:smile:

Really appreciate the comment, ill check in morning on data and get back to you. Thanks 

Also just to pick your brain do you think the lean condition could cause the smell of is that more likely a cat issue ?

How's the 12v Battery... That's normally the bad egg smell as Battery is getting cooked... Under the impression they have gone back to lead acid Battery as its in the engine bay. 

Battery was test few weeks ago and was told it was perfect, the smell definitely seem to be from exhaust as I turned it off and I got right up close to end of exhaust the smell was very very strong