Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

My Order Is In!

Mindings

As a company car driver, I have a contract lease allowance but within that I have total freedom to select my car. As I have to select the car for a 3 year period, I guess I need to make a serious choice.

My present car (Lexus IS200 SE Automatic) is due to go back on 12th July so a few weeks ago I had to start considering a replacement. To be honest I had not even heard of the Prius until I started to examine all my motoring options.

I do not get a fuel allowance and my return journey to and fro work adds up to 50 miles. The present fuel consumption and my company car tax made me think very seriously about an alternative with better consumption and lower tax.

A number of my colleagues who had changed their car in the last year, had switched to diesel and for a while, I was considering this too. It was only when I started to read up on car options that I came across the Hybrid possibility.

I finally took myself off to my local Toyota Dealer to look at all the alternatives, including an Avensis Diesel and a Prius. Before seeing the car for myself, I was somewhat concerned about how much space was in the car. Whilst the sleek looks were very attractive, I was concerned that squezzing my big frame in, might be a problem, and if not for me, perhaps my rear seat passengers.

When the sales person rolled out the demonstrator my very first action was to sit in the drivers seat and slide the seat rearwards to the most comfortable position. In the Lexus, any passenger sitting behind me, other than the smallest ones, usually ends up with their knees pushed up against the seat. So once I had adjusted the seat I got out and immediately sat in the rear seat.