Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Yaris Tinny Rattle

Cabbage

Bought my Japanese built Yaris SR nearly 3 years ago. Unfortunately I appear to have been sold the only crap Yaris to be manufactured in Japan. Among many faults I have had a new passenger door which didn't close properly, 2 new front shock absorbers (15,000miles), new drivers window runner (3 times), window regulators (twice) new tailgate boot struts (twice) and the passenger seat tray came away and needed replacing. The clutch fork and clutch release bearing needed replacing (18,000 miles), its just coming up to 30,000 miles and I have notice a clicking sound (like 2 marbles being hit together) coming from the front wheels when turning. Apparently this is the drive shaft, which is being replaced today. I should add that I am a careful driver (50 years old) and have never had an accident. I should also mention that the garage I bought this car from in Bristol are the most incompetant in the world as far as repairs and servicing are concerned.

Despite this I still like the car and want to get it right. However there is one fault which has been there for 2 years which has not been diagnosed or rectified by Mr T. Its a sort of tinny, reverberating rattle which is produced when going over slightly uneven or rough road. It appears to be coming from the exhaust area underneath the car. The garage has tightened the loose exhaust undertray bolts but the noise is still there. At one stage they even tried to say the noise was stones trapped in the exhaust/catalytic converter which they could not get at!

Has anybody any idea what this rattle could be. To me it would appear to be the exhaust damper rattling against the car but I have been under the car myself and cannot reproduce this rattle. Any ideas?

Try greasing the tailgate lock mechanism ... mines drove me mad and it took multiple MrT trips to get them to figure it out!