Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Installing A Reversing System - A Diy Job?

gerger

I have just received a gift of a reversing kit (NIKKAI) - 4 sensors and a camera - and a reversing mirror that shows the camera picture and also the sensor status, when the car is in reverse. The mirror claims to replace the existing mirror but I am not considering that. The existing mirror seems to be 'welded' to the wind screen. I would place the new mirror on the dashboard at the side. Mounting plate and 'glue' are part of the kit.

I have a 6 month old Toyota Corolla Verso, so don't want to mess it up :)

It's my first Toyota - had a Spacewagon for 12 years.

I want to install the reversing system.

Now to the question. Is this a DIY job? I am a competent DIY person and know the electrics well. However I have no knowledge of how to get the wiring from the rear of the car up to the dashboard. I hope there are snap in/out plastic parts to give access to wiring run? Or maybe the wires can be run externally on the underbody? The kit contains a die for drilling the rear bumper to mount the sensors and camera, so that should not be a problem.

So, is this something you would recommend I try? Are there any sources of information on access to the interior wire ducts or running/hiding interior cables? Or should I admit defeat and employ a pro?

Opinions appreciated please !!

Ger

if the cables are long enough you could take them under the car into the engine bay and then through one of the existing rubber grommtis into the car and then to the dash. with the sensors though do you have to drill the bumper to put them in?

if you do id give it a miss and get a pro to do it. if not give it a go and if you cant do it, then get a pro

Thanks Steven.