Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Use Of The Parking Brake

Dutchgirl

As a retired driving instructor I prefer to use the hand brake when stopped . When I bought a Prius I was told there was no need to use the parking brake but the Prius does move on the flat if pushed without the engine/battery. It is advisable to secure on the parking brake because in a car park where cars are parked back to back or vice versa, the Prius can move and if the person in front of you parked a little too close and you happen to be putting something in the boot of the Prius, you lean forward and your car will likely bump into the car in front if the parking brake is not in use. So I would advise use of the parking brake so that it cannot be pushed forward by yourself or anyone else who comes near it. I admit it wont go far, but it is safer.

Any more comments on this?

Dutchgirl

What fool thought that applying the handbrake was not necessary?

Please keep using the handbrake, that is what it is there for :D:

Kingo :thumbsup:

What fool thought that applying the handbrake was not necessary?

Please keep using the handbrake, that is what it is there for :D:

Um I've yet to use mine, albeit that I only took delivery in December.

Why should you use it, I realise there is a difference between engaging P and the handbrake, something about one working on the wheels and the other on the gear box. On my previous car, also an automatic, I never used the handbrake (also electronic). Surely that is what all the American's do too - hence why their cars always "lurch" as they get out.

I mean once in P it ain't going to go anywhere or am I mad? Do let me know!!!

Jon

I purchased the Prius in December and the dealer said always use the footbreak as well as "P".