Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

'02 Tsport Intake / Exhaust Mods?

myromeo

Hi all,

I have a 2002 3dr TSport that is currently running stock other than I have replaced the snorkel with a pipe from an MGTF160 and have installed a wizards of nos wet nitrous kit at 50hp. I'm an engineer by trade (and by uni!) so am not scared to try things out for myself!

heres the TF pipe compared to the stock snorkel, as you can see its much a bigger diameter and has no nasty restrictive bends.

Photo0005.jpg

What I want to do next is rework the intake manifold (as per a recent post, sorry, nrgizer's i think?!) to give improved throttle response and some midrange gains. Has anyone else done this or can you show me any images of what the stock manifold looks like from various angles?

I also want to fabricate a high flowing axle back exhaust to replace the stock box, I have seen in the states they run 'unbolted' but as we need a rear box of some sort here I was thinking of using the absolute smallest box I can find. I know this would be loud but from other forums I see the rear box is taking somewhere between 10 and 14hp from the engine!

I think this plus the intake mods could free up 15+ hp and really improve the way the car drives, of course on nitrous it doesnt matter anyway cos its hella fast :D

Any advice / tips would be really appreciated :)

Marko

hey wow i might grab myself an MG pipe and chuck mine!

intake gains can be massive

my advice would be to check 9thgencorolla forums as there is a lot of work going on with this at the moment. Not much love for performance upgrades on this particular corolla forum but there are some modders out there!

btw i dont see 10-14bhp from the backbox, the CTS is more restricted from the Intake, and Cat...not backbox...so you' need to open up both before that became a significant issue.