Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Squealing When Turning Right

matt@theforce

Over the last couple of days SWMBO's Rav has started to sqeual when turning right. It doesn't happen all the time, when turning at slow speeds with a gentle turn it doesn't make the sound, turning right at roundabouts it always makes the noise.

Had it booked into Toyota this morning for a service and asked them to check it out too.

The mechanic came back and told me that he believes the squeal is coming from the driveshaft boot drying out and that it will clean up when the weather gets better.

I'm not a mechanic and have to take their word for it but it does concern me that the noise started on sunday when the roads were dryand today has been the 1st snow for a couple of weeks to settle, i would have expected if it was down to the bad weather it would have started during the early part of Jan when the snow was at its worst when swmbo was driving 1foot deep snow.

Any opinions?

Does it stop if you touch the brake?

Over the last couple of days SWMBO's Rav has started to sqeual when turning right. It doesn't happen all the time, when turning at slow speeds with a gentle turn it doesn't make the sound, turning right at roundabouts it always makes the noise.

Had it booked into Toyota this morning for a service and asked them to check it out too.

The mechanic came back and told me that he believes the squeal is coming from the driveshaft boot drying out and that it will clean up when the weather gets better.

I'm not a mechanic and have to take their word for it but it does concern me that the noise started on sunday when the roads were dryand today has been the 1st snow for a couple of weeks to settle, i would have expected if it was down to the bad weather it would have started during the early part of Jan when the snow was at its worst when swmbo was driving 1foot deep snow.

Any opinions?