Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Which Wheel Cylinder?

Rafal

Hi guys

I am looking for a wheel cylinder for my car 1997 Toyota Carina E hatchnack, 1.8 petrol, manual.

The problem which I got is that there are two different wheel cylinders on the market which are described as correct match for my car.

There is one which is called Aisin/Hosei System and the other one called Lucas System. I am not a mechanic and can not look under my car to see which one I have got. I need to buy one buut how to determin which one is the correct one? What is the difference between them?

I have attached pictures.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Rafal

post-60178-016557100 1290255013_thumb.jp

post-60178-041347900 1290255027_thumb.jp

Simple!! all you have to do is get your overalls on jack the car up and look at the back plate of the brake system and weigh up which way the bolts fix to your cyl and then chose the appropriate cly that you have shown us!

I have made a note in my Haynes book that the later models have Lucas/Girling brakes rear. That would be the thing you have too as you stated that your car was from 97.

To be very sure you should take off a wheel and take of a drum and have a look to be sure if you have the trangle shaped or the circular shaped cylinder.

Thank you

The Lucas one is more expensive :) This one is very confusing as two different parts supplier list the Lucas System as suitable for cars manufactured between '95 and '96 and while my car was manufactured in 1997 you can see where the confusion is coming from. On the other hand when I email JapParts they emailed me back saying that the Lucas System's part is correct for my car, same as your advise Balikbayan.

My Toyota failed MOT and as my friend is a mechanic I try to buy all the parts myself for him to fit.