Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Increase Bhp

bliszko

i have a 51 plate celica vvti and i have been driving it for about 7-8 months now and i feel like it need to have that little bit more power i have called in to a few mapping places and they say it cant be mapped???... and i have heard putting a suppercharger on it is megga bucks could anyone help???

thanks alex

First things first, you have a 51 plate 140 VVTi. How is your oil usage?

ALL pre face lift (pre 52 plate) has a design flaw that can result in excessive oil burning. Not all develop the issue though.

Make sure you do weekly oil checks. If you start noticing you’re using oil, then you can buy a new dipstick form Toyota with an altered oil level mark & keep topping the oil up regularly. The other option is to replace the engine, though if you go down this route you MUST NOT buy a recon engine. Source a used engine taken straight out of a model being broken.

Ok here are the facts to your questions:

If you want more power – You need to spend money!

Induction kit & exhaust will do naff all on their own. You'll be very lucky to see 5bhp, in fact the induction kit will more likely sap some power (though it may 'feel' otherwise), as it'll be exposed to the engine bay temperatures which the stock airbox has some resistance to.

You have 2 options:

1 – Full NA build = Big money!

2 – Go Force Induction = 2 more options.

1. Supercharging = Big money £4k minimum (that's for the kit)
  2. Turbo = Bigger money £5k minimum (that's for the kit)

On top of that add in tuning, uprated suspension, brakes, tyres (decent ones) & exhaust.

If you want to Supercharge or go Turbo, you MUST speak to Lee at Se7en Motorsports on Celica-Club. He is the only guy who knows what he’s doing with this. In fact he’s the only guy making turbo kits for the 140 VVTi and it’s all custom work as there are no off the self kits.