Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

New Modified 1Ad Engine

Deakin

Hi all can anyone give me some information on the 2009 new shape avensis with the 1AD modified engine block has this curred the head gasked problem?, i am about to change cars and have had the head gasket problem with the 07 facelift avensis and was thinking of buying the new skoda superb 1.9.diesel, i am a taxi driver and i need a relible car but i have had about 6 toyota,s and just keep thinking to myself am i doing the right thing with the skoda i know the avensis have had their fare share of problems mainly the head gasket one but if i thought they had this sorted i would stay with the avensis.Thanks for any replys.

According to the technical bulletin that we have a copy of (but that we know has been superceded) the hg problem can affect Avensis built up until the end of February 2009 - this is about the first 6 months of T27 production. There have been a few 09 hgs on here but there certainly doesn't seem to be the nos. of hg problems with T27s as with T25s (of course fewer of them will have done the mileage yet where it may start to show).

If you can afford it I would look at the facelift T27 (from ~11/11) as they made quite a few improvements to the car overall (incl significant fuel economy savings on the 2.0 D4D).

Of course the current D4Ds all have a DPF.

If you are just working around town the petrol 1.8 isn't that far behind for fuel economy & has no DPF, no turbo, no intercooler & the injectors don't run at the pressure of a common rail diesel so don't wear the same. Cheaper to buy too.

Thanks for the reply Heidfirst but im afreaid the 11/11 would be a bit on the pricey side for me,as for the petrol 1.8 is sounds great but have you noticed they dont make a hatchback for some reason,so i would need the tourer which would be harder on the fue.Thanksl