Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Worrying Noise From Just-Bought 2Nd Hand 2.0 D4D 2014 Avensis Icon

2912pwil

Just bought a 64-plate 10k miles 2.0 D4D Avensis Icon. Very nice: But... drove some 250 miles directly home: I stopped briefly for fuel (Diesel, I have receipt) and then at two motorway services for pee breaks. I am a retired 67-year old pensioner, IaM & Rospa tested, and do not drive in a manner unsympathetic to any vehicle. During the journey there were no strange noises, no unexpected warning lights and the coolant temperature gauge was steady in the middle of the range after it had warmed up. Everything else operated satisfactorily.

However, on getting out at home a clicking/cooling-down-contracting noise was obvious, from the engine-bay area, sounding (to me, I am not an expert in these matters) like some metal/metallic device(s) cooling down. (I had not noticed the noise during the journey nor when filling the tank). I returned to the car with my wife some minutes later & it was still easily audible. No smoke, no steam, nothing else untoward - I opened the bonnet. This morning I checked the oil & coolant: Levels and appearance normal and satisfactory.

The only time I've heard a similar sound was about 25years ago from a 1300 Police Ford sierra that had been trying to catch me (guilty m'lud, no excuse..28 day ban, reformed now thank you...) at the bottom of the M1 at over 100mph. i.e. a heavily overstressed engine..

Any ideas what it is?? I've emailed garage “inviting their thoughts” & won't drive it today or tomorrow: Turbo going?? It had allegedly just been serviced by them, car supermarket. Weird..

Any thoughts, ideas or suggestions gratefully received.

Thats absolutely normal. Happens on all cars, small tick tick sound. Not sure what the science and purpose of it is but I can assure its not a problem.

• Like 1