Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

NG Yaris owners with built-in WiFi

CPN

Has anyone managed to get the WiFi working in their head unit yet? Mine indicates it is switched on but doesn't see any networks even when I am sat inside the car with my Pixel 3XL's hotspot switched on (which other phones see easily and strongly)? I am not even sure that it is actually working in the head unit!

(oh, and just to preempt certain questions - yes, the Wifi signal from my home broadband is very strong where the car is parked and all around the house actually; even at the bottom of my garden and this is because, being a retired Network Engineer, I have a ton of repeaters and a mesh setup in and all around the house so there really is no excuse why the car can't see it other than it isn't actually working!)

@Devon Aygo Any ideas Lee?

i may be thinking of another system but does it not use the phones 3 or 4G as a gateway and the stereo is acting as the hotspot for the car

No, that was how the previous "Touch(& 2)" systems worked by using your phone's bluetooth tethering. The head unit in my Launch Edition has both WiFi & bluetooth. Even the manual explains that the only way to connect to your Toyota account now is via WiFi. There's now no setting for the Bluetooth to use a tethered connection. 🙁

In essence its still the same system just on updated hardware (MM17), the onboard Wi-Fi will have its own DHCP want for a better word it is a basic router so it will need to get an IP/DNS connection from a provider

Does the cars ssid show if you look for it ? no hotspot turned on (on the phone)

I think you're misunderstanding something here Bob? The car's WiFi is a Transmitter/Receiver just as you would have in any of your devices around the home. It is NOT a Router device with its own SSID...

Screenshot 2020-10-10 173319.png

Screenshot 2020-10-10 173126.png

Screenshot 2020-10-10 173222.png