Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Rav 4 Hybrid v Rav 4 PHEV

Nickems

As Im thinking of upgrading from my 2020 Hybrid to a used 2021 PHEV Can a clever member do the maths for me to calculate the cost comparison on 10000 miles per year using a PHEV . My typical annual use is 75% local journeys ( up to 50 miles) 25% long distance (500 miles plus)

Any comments welcomed

• Thanks 1

Difficult to do as it depends on so many factors, electricity costs, how heavy you are with the right foot etc. but Ive had my PHEV since May, one of the first in the UK.  My mileage profile is similar to yours and I’ve effectively driven round 5500 miles, 72%EV distance both charged and recovered and the MyT app says that my average effective consumption  is 127mpg. So taking every thing into account the app suggests the average consumption as if it was all petrol. I’m a more defensive driver than aggressive and use the ECO mode often as I find it more that adequate so most of my driving. I use the Normal mode to heat the car (as it runs the heat recovery harder) if it really cold but have found ECO mode OK in the summer. Hope that helps?

• Like 2

My guess it isn’t worth swapping unless the change brings some other desired spec items that you currently do not have (sunroof, JBL etc). Depreciation is the biggest cost of car ownership. Let’s say it costs you £5k to change. That £5k buys an awful lot of petrol even at todays rip off price. 

• Like 3

Hi all......I have recently completed the HE/PHEV swap.

The comfort, drivability, & performance came as a pleasant surprise.

To achieve minimal running costs home or/& workplace charging facilities are essential IMO. 

Both denied to me retired living in a apartment block.

Absolutely no regrets, love the motor but regular EV charging is like filling up with petrol a gallon at a time.