Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

2.0 D4D Losing power when engine temp rises

AlmaPiim

So my mom bought a 2005 Avensis, 2.0 D4D. At first it drove fine and was really economical, but then the problem started. In the beginning while in 5th gear, it would sometimes lose power and a bunch of dark smoke would come out. The problem got solved (at the time) by going into 4th and accelerating. Over time it got more frequent and now when it goes w/o power, there's no getting it back, unless the engine cools all the way down. Its thrown a
P1251-Step motor for turbocharger control circuit (intermittent)
and
P0400-EGR flow fault codes. I tried cleaning the EGR valve but that didn't do anything so I'm not sure if that isn't the problem, or I didn't clean it well enough. I'm an intern in a workshop so I had our diagnostic diagnose it. He also went for a test drive and when accelerating, a bunch of brown smoke came out. He checked live data and found that injector #4 is on it's way out (but that in my opinion couldn't cause the loss of power when engine is warm) and the accelerator position sensor wasn't giving the right signal so I installed a new one. He told me to test drive to see if the problem was gone, but it wasn't. Also before, the loss of power would come, when the temp gauge would be 2 lines from operating temperature, but today it's started to lose power right as the temp gauge starts to rise. He's going on a vacation now so I'm trying to search for the problem myself, but he suggested something with turbo.

IIRC that has a variable vane turbo; It sounds like the mechanism that moves the vanes is overheating and jamming or something.

I remember reading about people on here having similar problems in the past but can't remember what the fixes were...

Hi Ayman,