Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Used 2014 Auris maintenance

ThomasBZ

Hi,

So I just got a used Auris over a month ago. It is a 2014 , 73 kw, 1.8 Hybrid with nearly 117.000 km on it.

So far I am happy with the purchase. Having driven diesel cars before, I have little experience with petrol, leave alone hybrid cars. I have done my fair share of research before the purchase, so I am aware of the most important things to look after. I am sure there are a few things I have missed. My goal being to extend it's lifetime as much as possible, I would like to ask for general maintenance advise, best oil and filter change frequency,  hybrid Battery fan (filter) cleaning/changing frequency, spark plugs, etc. Any weak points I should aware of?

e.g - I've been suggested by someone to change engine oil every 7,000 km. Which I am pretty sure is an overkill.

Also any thoughts on rust coating? I've had quite a bit of a rust issue on my previous 2006 Skoda, which is a common issue for that car.  the weather being quite harsh with the salt and changing temperatures where I am from, I am considering getting the underfloor coated.

Much appreciated for any piece of advise!

received_599309062343136.jpeg

Hi and welcome. 
Good choice for diesel replacement. These cars are as good and as efficient like diesels , even better. For services and maintenance here it’s an interesting and informative post, plenty of info of how to and when to change things in regular service. 

There are two important jobs that require attention to maintain long and trouble free life of your car: 

1. EGR system cleaning usually every 100k miles 

2. Hybrid Battery cooling fan cleaning procedure 

The rest is mostly oil and filters changes every 10k miles or 12 months.