Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Rear Speaker upgrade? (3-button head unit)

CosmicNonsense

I have just upgraded my car by adding the Android Auto / Carplay head unit - the one with three buttons.

I fancy putting some Speakers in the back of my car (three door), for a more immersive experience.

Does anyone know if there are rear speaker connections on the head unit? (if so, do you know which pins?)

If not, and I need to add an amp, are there any clear instructions and recommendations, as I'm a bit of a newbie with this sort of thing (and my budget is limited)?

Thank you 🙂 

unitrear.jpg

It's such a small car, is it really worth the Speakers in the back ?

Why not go overboard on the front Speakers and put the best in, that you can afford.

Or get a really good bluetooth speaker for the back 🤔

• Like 1

KGB40 audio.pdf

upgrade the front ones first then add sound deadening to the doors, you don't drive from the back seat do you ?

rears in such a small car are not needed unless you want some rear fill, 6x9's in the parcel shelf belong back in the 1980-90's and are wrong on so many levels

Best budget boom for the buck I would suggest

Focal Auditor ASE-165

Pioneer GM-D1004 or Alpine KPT-445

If you want some rear-fill

Focal Auditor ACX-165S

2mm silentcoat mat will be fine for the doors

to simplify wiring use a SOT lead

Connects2 CT10TY01

• Like 2

Thank you.

Yes, I do want some fill to the rear- it may seem like overkill, but it's what I'm used to, and at the moment feels a bit like dead space behind me.

But I also have no intention of using up any more of that boot space with 6x9s. It's small enough as it is. 😄

I've got conjunctivitis at the moment, so will have a look at that diagram a bit more when my eyes are better.