Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Beating 99.9mpg

sportse

I discovered today that while the dash display only goes to 99.9, the app goes beyond that. 

I have a regular trip of around 6 miles of flat city driving at mostly 30mph, usually I get 75mpg or so but today with the warmer weather it was way above. 

it’s a personal record, plus it was just normal driving at the actual limit (32 indicated) with normal acceleration too. 

IMG_2375.jpeg

IMG_2374.jpeg

• Like 4

Impressive!   The only time I've ever seen 99.9mpg on the meter display is with a 'stealth launch'.   Letting it trundle off the drive and up the road, without touching the throttle, until the ICE starts.   I only do it because I am new to hybrids and it's just weird 🙄

I should, perhaps, mention that I live in a cul-de-sac and I don't do it if there is anyone else around.

Yes, I’d never got near this before. Particularly as it was normal driving on the flat so no cheating by using the stored Battery power on a short trip or going downhill. 

I had two 17 mile trips this afternoon, both city 30mph but with a few  40/50mph sections too - almost exactly the same for both trips at 71mpg. 

the warmer weather seems to make a big difference. Combined with slower speed driving the results are completely above any previous hybrid I’ve owned, so it looks like whatever they’ve done with the facelift has worked.

I struggled to even hit 50mpg in my auris , and my Yaris was only 55mpg mostly  

IMG_2376.jpeg

In my Auris in certain conditions I can easily achieve  similar numbers , not as good as the latest models obviously but very very close.