Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Any Plumbers Out There?!?

nrgizerbunny

Hi all,

Our boiler has decided to pack up and my dad wants a new one. We were watching "this old house" on discovery and now he wants a Viessmann boiler.

Anyway upshot is I have to fit one, is it hard? I have plenty of experience in diy but was unsure:

1. a which type i should get, the current system is one where you flick a switch wait an hour and the hot water heats up - this is what we want, is it conventional or combi?

2. is it a pain to fit? or is it just a question of pulling the old boiler off, connnecting hte pipes and thats it?

3. do i have to be corgi registered. on the internet it just said it must be fitted by a competent person, i suppose corgi registered is competent but i'd say i was too. Being an engineer and all that! :D

any help gratefully accepted.

thanks

sanj

Think you'll fid that it's mainly combi-boilers now (instant hot water)

Just had my system serviced today and it's the old conventional one that uses a header tank. I remember moving it myself from one wall to another without any real problem (i'm not corgi registered(not even a plumber :P )

The systems about 25years old now and everytime the gas board comes round it's the old sharp intake of breath and "you won't get parts for these mate", I think that's always a stock answer when they want to fit you a new system in for about 2-3 grand, i'm not expecting it to last forever but i'm sure I could slap one of those combies in when it does go. So if you're a reasonably competant DIY'er give it a go, but get it checked out after (you don't want to blow the street up)