Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Speeding

ARSI JAF

Hi

Doh! Got nicked for speeding twice in the same day, once on the way there, once on the way back! I was on the A14, a road I have never driven on before - one the way there it was Suffolk - 61/50, and on the way back in Cambs, 83/70.

Now, (and I know you wont believe me) but if I had to lay my annual salary on it, I would have said I was not going as fast as they have clocked me at - on either "offence"

I genuinely believe that my speedo is not showing the correct speed - so, if I am driving at 50mph showing on my clock, I think I am actually doing, say, 55mph.

Has anyone ever had any problems with their speedo?

I intend to fight these tickets, and no, I not at risk of loosing my licence - I will be driving on 9 points if I'm convicted because I have 3 "live" ones already - its the principle of it! I've been driving for 25 years and only ever had these three points! I do a lot of miles and I am very cautious about speeding - so I am seriously NOT IMPRESSED that I got caught twice in one day!

Any comments would be gratefully received.

Cheers

I have a GPS speedo on my radar detector. My speedo is about 3mph out at 30 and about 5mph out at 70. Have you got sat nav of anything you can use to verify your speed?

I have a GPS speedo on my radar detector. My speedo is about 3mph out at 30 and about 5mph out at 70. Have you got sat nav of anything you can use to verify your speed?

No I haven't - but sounds like it could be a good investment.....

aint speedos normally wrong negatively like when your doing 30 it 27? not the other way

yes, is the answer - however, as it said on the other information I managed to find " if speedo does error, it may even read the other end of the error scale and possibly read slower than the actual road speed?"

It's a thought.