Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Clocked Toyota

Mikey Silo

Hey everyone.

I've just joined the forum, having just gotten myself a '94 Celica GT. But after having it less than i week I've made a very bad discovery and now I need some advice on what to do next.

I'm pretty new to buying cars (I've been driving for coming up to 2 years), and up to last week I was driving a '97 Toyota Paseo Si. Unfortunately I had a bump in that on some ice in December. It was cosmetic, but based on the age and general condition of the car, plus the rarity of parts for it, the best option was to get rid. My mum drives an imported '97 Celica, and since I like it and know how reliable it has been I decided to look at getting one myself.

After looking around for a few weeks I found an 'M' reg '94 Celica GT on Auto Trader with 83k on the clock advertised at £1100. I went and viewed the car, but I'm no mechanic, and inexperienced as mentioned. I checked around the body, checked the lights work, had it running for a while, had a quick run in it, made sure things like the seats were ok, etc. The dealer had no service history, although it had just been MOT'ed. I was worried about driving my paseo around in it's battered state, and although it had been deemed safe I was still concerned it might die or might be illegal. So, I persuaded the seller to do a part-exchange. I got the Celica for £900 and was happy. BUT... after a few days of use I noticed the odometer wasn't moving. I've now been on the VOSA website and tracked it's MOT history. In November 2007 it was MOT'ed twice... once at 171k miles, and then later in the month at 83K, as it is now. :( :( :(

I know now, only too well, just how niave I've been. But I'm really in need of a few words of advice on what to do next, other than speaking to trading standards and finding out if I've got any ability to get my cash back.