Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Burning Smell When Reversing A Trailer

SteveR.

I'm new to trailer towing, so I'm pretty crappy at reversing one and it takes me a few minutes of trial & error to get it right. I've only done it twice now, and both times there's been a distinct burning smell from my RAV4 (2yo, 10k miles). Should I be worried?

I'm new to trailer towing, so I'm pretty crappy at reversing one and it takes me a few minutes of trial & error to get it right. I've only done it twice now, and both times there's been a distinct burning smell from my RAV4 (2yo, 10k miles). Should I be worried?
Hi Steve, I seem to recall this is quite common + there is no real cause for concern its apparantly cutch related + I think there have been other posts about it particularly on the T180.. but i am sure someone far wiser than me will advise.. :thumbsup:

Thanks - I did a quick search before posting and came across a few mentions of a smell on reversing in some Toyotas and I got the impression it was clutch related. It wasn't clear to me whether it is known to affect RAVs or whether it's a cause for concern, though. It's quite disconcerting!

Hi Steve

I often tow a caravan with a RAV4 D4D XTR, and always now try and avoid reversing, especialy uphill which the Rav seems to hate.

The problem arises from soft-ish clutch which is prone to slipping in reverse.The first time I did it the clutch was fully engaged and going nowhere, with smoke pouring form the engine bay, but OK when cooled down, that said its a common smell on caravan sites especially hilly ones, and all makes of car. The car has driven normally since it first occured over 20,000 miles ago, so there seems to have been minimal damage, but I still try to avoid reversing uphill.

Hope this helps.

Cheers

Jon