Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

53 Plate New Ecu!

adama67

Hi, newbie here.

53 plate diesel Rav4 (63000 miles - bought 2nd hand from toyota @ 22000), I have had recent loss of power which is intermittent (engine light on dashboard lights up - goes out on restart). Feels like a turbo problem. Took it to toyota who now want £1200 for a new ECU and spill valve - has anyone seen similar or any advice?

Cheers.

Welcome to the club.

Read the section pinned at the top of the RAV4 section regarding SCV valves.

http://toyotaownersclub.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=87986

Cheers!

I will let you know either way what happens.

Paul.

Well, took it to an independant garage (recommended for diagnostics). Outcome is that he replaced the air & fuel filter and added some injector cleaner and the car is brand new. Early days, I will test for a couple of weeks (still dont believe this fix as yet) but.... if this HAS fixed the issue I will not be pleased with Mr T to say the least. It has been driven for around 1/2 hour so far with no issues. I will update on any change.

Hi Paul welcome to the forum.

Had a similar problem two weeks ago on my 2005 diesel Rav with 56000 miles on the clock.

Engine warning light came on and lack of power. Returned home left the car on the drive for a few hours .Back into the car ,warning light still on but power back ok . Drove down to Halfords , bought some injector cleaner .Back into car started warning light now off .Used injector cleaner no problems since.

I did let the fuel tank go very low ,low fuel light came on ,two weeks previously.

Spoke on the phone to Toyota garage who do my sevice and they said if it is still ok leave till next service 60000 and they can check the details of the fault with their computer as it will be stored in the ECU.

Regards

for a couple £ you can buy your own OBD-II reader... google is your friend to find one.