Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Yaris 1.0 To 1.3 Or 1.5 And Possible Head Gasket

Qas101

So I have owned my 2006 Yaris for 2 months it has 97k. To my dismay I have noticed the white residue in my oil cap. However no oil in coolant, no over heating and no exhaust smoke symptoms. My car does use up oil though. I have read up and it could be condensation in my cylinder head due to my short journeys as I only drive to work and gym which are 1.5 miles each way. I don't always warm it up but due to the recent weather I have started now. I don't really want to take the risk of waiting around until the head gasket goes and don't fancy going to a garage to get ripped off as I'm only a student. This brings me onto my second query if I do need a new head gasket and for it to be skimmed I would rather just by a new engine for the same price. My uncle can fit it in as he has done this stuff before. I've never really liked the engine it's quite sluggish and it's my first car so I was considering a bigger Yaris engine such as the 1.3, 1.33 or even 1.5. Any idea if it is possible and what I would need to change ? Apologies in advance if I sound like I don't know what I'm talking about just throwing about a few ideas

Are you losing coolant?

A 2006 Yaris would be a 1.0 12v 3 cylinder unit these can be a little thirsty on oil especially as the mileage gets a bit higher or if people start using too thick/poor quality oil, they are also well known for creating the white sludge in the oil filler cap. So long as the oil consumption is < 0.5lt in 621miles and there is no coolant loss there is no issue.

Clean the sludge, change the oil filter and use a quality 0W20 or 5w30 oil and give the oil beather and PCV valve a clean out at the same time.