Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Aygo X 2024 extremely slow going from 60 to 100km/hr

Shinny321

Hi all. I'm an experienced driver and have mostly only driven older manual cars and newer automatics so there's a lot to get used to in my new Aygo X, 2024 model!

I've never driven a 1.0 liter engine before and it is taking getting used to. However, I'm a little concerned. I have not - knowingly - used any adaptive cruise control or speed limiter on the vehicle so I don't think this was the problem. I was on a motorway, came off an exit and had to remerge into the next part of the motorway. The merge slip was short, and the car was appallingly slow to move from 60 - 100 once I had entered into the slow lane. To move from 60 to 70 took several seconds - sorry, bad at guessing the precise amount of time but it was just so slow. A lot of cars had to overtake me. This stretch of the road was also sloping uphill for all of this time and I tried going into 4th gear and even 3rd gear and the car just would not pick up speed quickly enough - it picked up to 100 eventually but took ages. 

Is this normal at all or does it sound like I accidentally had the speed limiter set or something else? Could it be the mode? I think there is Eco, Sport and Normal? I think I'm in Eco have to check when I'm at the car again!

I don't know the terminology but on the left of the display there's a counter going up to 10 (revs I think) and this will never go past 3, even when I'm in 4th gear with foot on the gas pedal. Should this go up higher when you are constantly accelerating up in speed?

Appreciate any help at all. 

• Confused 1

The short answer is you're in the wrong gear.

It's a 1.0L 3-cylinder NA engine - It's never going to be rapid, but all the power is at the top end.