Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Celica Recommendation

tunix

Hi Guys,

I've been driving Corolla TS for a couple of months, but due to repetitive serious clutch related problems I decided to change the car. I'd like to give Toyota one more chance, I believe my car was just "an accident", thus I'd like to get either new Corolla TS or Celica TS.

Because I've never driven a Celica before, I'd like to ask you guys a couple of simple questions. I'd really appreciate if you save me from searching the net :)

1. Where do they make Celica - is it UK or Japan?

2. What is the build quality in your opinion - any rattles from the dash?

3. I've read somewhere that in Celica 2zz-ge the rev limiter is set to 8400 instead of Corolla 8200. Is that true?

4. Any idea if Celica clutch differs from that in Corolla TS?

5. Anyone experienced any serious mechanical problems with Celica TS? Any clutch problems?

6. Is the main gear ratio (not sure if this is the correct word) the same as in Corolla? Do you hit 60 mph at 2nd or 3rd gear? I assume the gearbox is the same.

7. What is the sound quality of the stereo system - is it better that Corolla? Do you know if the head unit comes equipped with RCA connectors?

Thanks in advance for any info :)

Best,

tx

1. Celica is built in Japan.

2. Build quality is quite good I think, although Toyota have clearly cut a lot of corners since the previous Celica (to keep the price down) - such as no lights in the doors, shared passenger & driver window switches etc.

3. Not sure, but I'd guess they'd be the same.

4. Again, I'd guess the clutch is the same.

5. I had a 2001 Celica 140 a while back, in the 2 years I had it around 10 - 15 times it didn't start first time, but fine on 2nd key turn! The rear hatch needed fixing at it wouldn't stay up, which is a common problem I'm told.