Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Speeding Ticket And Insurance

OldSkoO1

I went through a mobile scammer this morning doing 35/36 in a 30 so they are probably going to send me 3 points for my clean licsense... which is nice of them since then we hiding round a bend and a downslope.

But anyway, because i'm new to points how do they affect your insurance? Does it go up or cause any other issues.

Ta

Indicated 35/36 and you might get away with it, you were probably actually going a touch slower and its right on the 10% + 2 threshold that the guidelines state they should use (although of course they don't have to, could do you for 31 if they felt like it).

First 3 points for speeding don't seem to make much (if any difference) to your insurance now. So many people have them and even the insurance companies recognise that a few points for speeding are no indication of an increased risk of an accident.

You probably dont even have a ticket lol

go back to the scene and take pictures on a diposable camera, it sounds like you cant see the van from 500yrds, therefore its illegal

What they said... generally speedos tend to overread slightly... tho its often proportional (being more out at higher speeds) so you may well be fine..

If not.. 3 points and £60.. which is all you will get for being a smidgen over the limit shouldnt affect the insurance too much..

I got done rather more harshly... and it wasnt too bad :)