Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Computer Help Please - UPDATED

SMW

Can anyone help – I am a computer novice !

A while ago I had problems burning music to CD’s – it would complete the process but only the first few (3 or 4 tracks) would ever play and the other tracks couldn’t be found i.e the CD player would whirr but not locate the track positions.

Thinking the CD writer was at fault I have bought a new drive. When installing it the instructions advised to set the rear jumpers to slave or master position or if replacing a drive to use the existing jumper settings – these were pegged to the left on the old drive which I think is ICEL position ? Although I don’t know what this means !

Anyway as the old drive did work once and I haven't altered the jumpers on the old one I set the new drive that way and heres my dumb bit – the large tape (ribbon) of cables (technical term !) which runs from the board to the CD drive has 2 connectors on it – the one on the end is labelled drive 0 and one about half way is labelled drive 1. I can’t remember which connector was on the old drive but I have tried it in both positions. In drive 0 position (the end) I can just about access files on Cd but it is very slow and in the 1 position the drive seems to work fine for example can play music CD’s or software CD’s will autostart and drive runs fast.

HOWEVER I can still not burn CD’s – I am using good quality discs. If I use media player I get a message to the effect ‘unable to finalize disk – your disk might be dirty or corrupt try a better quality disk’ and if I use Nero I get ‘DMA error unable to write to disk – unable to write end disk process’.

Anyone got any ideas – answers in simple terms please !

Thanks in anticipation!

Steve