Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Extended Warranty

oriana

i have just been quoted £360 for a 2 yr warranty with warranty direct,just wondered if anyone has had experience from this company,hey say they cover wear and tear including the dreaded flywheel.

i thought about buying from mr t at £610 but reading on here they seem to regard flywheel failure as secondry to clutch wear.

thanks

I have no experience of Warranty Direct, but do sound a note of caution on the basis of experience with another warranty company - don't remember its name but it was one of the big ones. I paid my fee when I bought the car, and a few weeks later the gearbox fell apart. I tried to claim back under the warranty but the day before the insurer had gone bust. So do check, inasfar as it is possible to do so, the credentials of your proposed insurer.

Secondly, check carefully the maximum amount you can claim. Often the limits on these after market warranties are quite low, say £250 or £500, which will obviously cover only a small part of the cost of more expensive repairs - such as the flywheel.

Perhaps you should take into account the age, mileage and history of your car, too. If it is new-ish, and has low mileage and a trouble-free history, and it's just the flywheel you're worried about, then, bearing in mind the RAV's reliability , I would think twice about paying for third party warranty - but that is just my view.

i have just been quoted £360 for a 2 yr warranty with warranty direct,just wondered if anyone has had experience from this company,hey say they cover wear and tear including the dreaded flywheel.

i thought about buying from mr t at £610 but reading on here they seem to regard flywheel failure as secondry to clutch wear.

thanks