Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Post Engine Replacement Trouble

cunny595

Hey guys i'm new to this kind of thing so i don't fully know how it works but i am giving it a bash. My name is Adam Condliffe i am 21, my farther has had a company car for about 7 years and it is a Toyota Avensis 1998 2.0 CDX now when he got a new company car the Avensis was so reliable that he wanted to buy it for me which he did. Now i have had it for a couple of years and recently the cam belt snapped, the car has done 208000 miles, i loved the car so much i decided to have my mate install a new engine which he did, there were a few problems which got solved but now the car has cut out completely. We have tried alot of things such as sensors, making sure its earthed, making sure fueling system is working, Battery, spark plugs, ht leads and we think that it may be the ECU becasue the engine was from a W reg(the engines are pre August 2000 so no problems there)? Any ideas? Maybe Crank sensor? The timing is perfect on it but maybe the timing from the ECU. Also does anyone know if i change the ECU does the key barrel and everything have to be changed too?

Please can anyone help

Adam

Sounds complicated, any chance of some error codes (otherwise guess work & guess work means wasted money ) might start the ball rolling & at least give you an area you can start from. Will engine turn over or no responce when key turned ?

Sounds complicated, any chance of some error codes (otherwise guess work & guess work means wasted money ) might start the ball rolling & at least give you an area you can start from. Will engine turn over or no responce when key turned ?