Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Buying an MR2

Chris

Hi,

I'm a newbie so first of all.. Hi Everyone!!

I'm looking into buying an MR2 and have a few questions. I want a black MK2? '00 model GT T bar i.e the newest of the old shape (does that make sense?)

Anyway,

Can I expect air con?

What should I look for?

What should I avoid?

Are there any companies that I should avoid?

Any wise word/advice?

Thanks in advance,

Chris

Hiya and welcome to the club....

What can you expect (apart from a grin everytime you take her out)....

GT T-Bar so import which means....

Air Con (YES)

Full electric mirrors, windows etc....

What to look for:

Be careful on modded imports as they've generally been used for racing and normally not too much history from Japan, get a full RAC check before you buy.

MR2's are normally solid as a rock unless you buy a dog.

Normal checks oil, pulling, brakes, etc, etc

Very important to check the T-Bar seals and rear bottom cross struts although on a '00 you should have no problems.

Avoid anything that doesnt clearly pass the inspection, any small probs on a car that new would cause me worries, especially on an import.

Any wise words, all I can say is great choice, great car, friendly forums available with a lot of techincal knowledge if you have the confidence to do stuff to the car yourself, regular meets with friendly peeps (last meet someone actually spent 3 hours replacing the window regulator for the cost of a portion of fish and chips)

Oh and great fun opn the track.....

It's getting a bit late here and a lot to drink so probably not given the best advice, best to message me off list so can reply properly although I'm sure a number of peeps here can addd more.

Will dig out the name of a reputable MR2 importer if you want who will get you a great car in great nick at a reasonable price.