Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Slight Knocking Noise On Idle?

Tay

Hi all,

I have a 1.8 2003 Avensis. It has always made a ticking sound when idling which I believe is normal, but lately I have noticed a faint knocking sound too. Only noticable when engine is warm and the car is idling on about 600 to 700 revs.

I'm pretty sure it wasn't making this sound until recently, any ideas what it could be?

It seems to come from the top of the engine and is just loud enough to hear with the bonnet closed. Car has 78k on it, short motor changed a couple of years ago on about 60k.

Thanks!

How's your oil level? Does it soumd like piston slap or deff the cams?

Hi Mistermena,

Oil level is fine, I watch it like a hawk since the short motor was done!

I'm not very technical and don't really know what those would sound like, but the noise is quite faint and dull. More of a slight thud that seems to me to be coming from the top of the engine.

Sorry if that's a bit vague!

A video will make it easier to distinguish but do it on a decent camera, try and move it around the engine bay slowly so we can hear any changes.

Why did you need to rebuild the bottom end? Did it die of oil starvation? If so then did you replace the oil pump?

We need more detail for questions like this, such as whether or not the frequency of the noise increases as the engine revs rise. Is it metallic? If it sounds off quite quickly then it'd be the bottom end, but if it's slow yet still regular then it may be the cams as they rotate slower than the engine.

Thanks guys, I will take a vid, just haven't had a chance.

The short motor was done under warranty due to oil consumption but the car has never been low enough on oil to be a problem.

The noise isnt particularly metallic and goes completely as soon as revs increase..