Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Planning On Buying A Yaris In Next Few Months....

Mr Bee

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here and don't even have a Yaris yet, but thought I'd join up anyway. I only found 2 Yaris forums and this looked the better one, and more suited to me.

Currently have a '99 Renault Clio auto which I am wanting to change for a new Yaris, hopefully within the next few months.

I am wanting the new and currrent shape/style - is this a Mk2 or Mk3? as there seems to be two versions of the original Yaris, or was one a facelift model?

I like the look of the new TR trim, as it has a bit more than the T3 and costs less, and only main difference between it and T spirit is manual a/c versus climate - but for the pric difference I'm not bothered about having climate!

Aslo, I think I am going to go for the 1.4D-4D with multimode. Auto is essential, as this car is also for my wife to drive and she doesn't like manual, and the MMT sounds quite good. I know people say the diesel is noisy, but it has more power, faster acceleration, better MPG, and lower tax than the 1.3VVT so it seems to me its the better option all round.

The diesel noise issue isn't really an issue for me anyway as my main car is a Golf TDI, and I'm a bit of a diesel convert these days :thumbsup:

Anyway, is there anyone on here who has a TR, or a D-4D with MMT? I have not been able to see the Decuma Grey colour yet, as the dealer didn't have one in, the brochure doesn't show it, and I cant find any pics online :huh:

Just wanting to see peoples opinions on the diesel and MMT, as well as the general build quality; and do Toyota still have the legendary reliability that they have become known for?

Long post I know, sorry, but comments and advice is appreciated peeps :D

Welcome.