Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Noisy Engine....

mattymariner

Hi...I am new to this, just needed to get it off my chest, as Toyota are sick of my groans, I wanted to ask other owners.

I have a 2008 RAV4 2.2 4D4 XTR.

Even when warm, the engine seems really noisy and ratterly. When doing 30 around town, it sounds like an old transit van. Its not until the turbo kicks in that the noise reduces and it sounds like a new car.

My local dealer has said the noise is simply because it has alot of 'torque', but I do not accept this.

Unless you guys have the same thing??

Please help...Thanks

Welcome to the forum :thumbsup:

Come on... you've got a diesel! It's supposed to be noisy. The engineers had an idea of what noise they wanted, and created the engine to sound that way. :lol:

I haven't compared the Rav4.3 and my Rav4.2, but my Rav sure makes noise. I've heard that the 4.3 is a bit quieter though...

You should go to a dealer and drive an identical car, and see if there is any difference. If it is, then you might want to complain.

Right the torque thing is a bit of a naughty answer to give you,

but I have to say yes I have 50 odd thousand miles on my T180 and yes it is a bit noisy. But it’s not as noisy as my last 4.2 ver.

Was your last car a petrol that might have something to do with it?

The new RAV4 is quite noisy, this is usually the new 6 speed box though - not the engine.

Does the noise go when you press the clutch pedal?

Mart.

Hi....thanks for input.

To answer some of the questions...I have always had a diesel car, so I except some growling from the engine, but this is like an annoying tapping noise...I am no mechanic, but it does drive me crazy.

The car has done 12k miles, and overall I am happy with it...

Mart - the noise goes when you put your foot down and the car is doing over 40mph..its like the engine hates going at 30!!...does that sound crazy??