Do Not Sell My Personal Information

• Join Toyota Owners Club

Join Europe's Largest Toyota Community! It's FREE!

Question On Exhaust Seal... First Diy On Exhause, Pls Help!

YarisGLS

Hi guys,

Just wanna ask if a new exhaust seal is required if I want to replace my stock back box to a new one? Or can I still use the old one, and use "tooth paste" seals like Holts Firegum to ensure a tight seal??

Is there any other new parts I would need to gather before such change?

This is my first time to do exhaust work myself... so please bare with me for dumb questions!

Many Thanks!

(rear wiper delay project prosponed to maybe next week or later :unsure: ....)

P.S. Spelling mistake in title.... it's just a typo! :P

Hi guys,

Just wanna ask if a new exhaust seal is required if I want to replace my stock back box to a new one? Or can I still use the old one, and use "tooth paste" seals like Holts Firegum to ensure a tight seal??

Is there any other new parts I would need to gather before such change?

This is my first time to do exhaust work myself... so please bare with me for dumb questions!

Many Thanks!

(rear wiper delay project prosponed to maybe next week or later :unsure: ....)

P.S. Spelling mistake in title.... it's just a typo! :P

you,d be better getting a new gasket as once you get the old exhaust of you may damage the gasket taking it of then your stuck till you go for another ,not heard of using tooth paste as a sealer :yahoo: but i,d invest in a small tube of sealer :thumbsup:

Thanks for the reply 215 compressor!

Is the gasket a toyota part? Or just any standard (I assume) crush seal gasket?

If it's a toyota part, what's the part number? Or where can I actually get one?

If it's any standard gasket, what dimention will I need to tell Halfords so they could get me one that fits?

It's for a 1.0 1999 GLS 3 dr BTW.

Cheers!

Gasket you can get from any exhaust place mate or toyota!